Pakistan Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Pakistan Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Pakistan 15-man squad has announced for the Cricket World Cup 2019 by Pakistan Cricket Board. Big news is that Muhammad Amir who performed well in Champions Trophy 2017 final and Hard Hitter Batsman Asif Ali that were not selected for the preliminary world cup squad however they are now selected for the final 15-man world cup squad.Another change is that Wahab Riaz who played his last ODI 2 years ago is selected in place of Junaid Khan. Abid Ali and Faheem Ashraf are excluded from the final squad to make room for Asif Ali and Muhammad Amir. The 2nd match of the tournament will play between Pakistan and West Indies on 31 May, 2019 at Trent Bridge, Nottingham.

Sarfraz Ahmed named as Captain for Pakistan Cricket team. Pakistan will go with three openers Fakhar Zaman, Imam ul Haq and Muhammad Hafeez. Fast Bowling department is filled with Wahab Riaz, Muhammad Amir, Muhammad Hasnain, Shaheen Afridi, and Hassan Ali. Pakistan has advantage of many allrounders like Shoaib Malik, Muhammad Hafeez, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan and Haris Sohail. Babar Azam is the key batsman for the Pakistan cricket team.

Pakistan has to play 5 ODI matches series against England and two warm-up matches against Bangladesh and Afghanistan ahead of world cup. Pakistan has good combination of young and experienced players. Muhammad Hasnain has impressed the selectors by his pace and speed in the PSL. The format of the world cup 2019 is same as 1992 world cup that is won by Pakistan.

15-man Squad for World Cup 2019 is:

1- Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain)
2- Fakhar Zaman
3- Asif Ali
4- Imam ul Haq
5- Babar Azam
6- Hassan Ali
7- Muhammad Hasnain
8- Shoaib Malik
9- Muhammad Hafeez
10- Muhammad Amir
11- Shadab Khan
12- Shaheen Afridi
13- Imad Wasim
14- Wahab Riaz
15- Haris Sohail