ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Team Captains Profile

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Team Captains Profile

England and Wales will host the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 from 30th May, 2019 to 14th July, 2019. All ten teams are in a single group where they have to play according to round robin format. A total of 48 matches will be played in world cup 2019. Captains are the important part of the team in every match because they should have the ability to handle the different situations. They know how to perform under pressure and make it possible for the team to win matches. It is the responsibility of the Captain to lead the team and make a plan where needed. Let’s take an overview of the Captains of all teams selected for Cricket World Cup 2019.
Eoin Morgan (England):
Captain of No.1 ODI team will lead England in cricket world cup 2019 for the second time. Last time he represented his team as a Captain in cricket world cup 2015. Since world cup 2015, England has won 50 ODI matches out of 76 under Eoin Morgan’s Captaincy. England will enter into the world cup as one of the strongest team to seal the first trophy for their country. Eoin Morgan has scored 6813 runs in 217 ODI matches with the strike rate of 89.73. He has 12 centuries and 43 fifties for England. In world cup 2015, under Eoin Morgan’s Captaincy, England didn’t manage to qualify for the quarter-finals. Eoin Morgan was named as Captain of England’s ODI team after the Alastair Cook.

Virat Kohli (India):
Captain of Indian cricket team Virat Kohli is at the top of the ICC ODI player rankings. He has more than 10 thousand runs with the brilliant average of 59.57 and strike rate of 92.96 and highest score 183 in ODI career. Virat Kohli was named as Vice-Captain in 2012 for ODI and then named as Captain in 2017 after MS Dhoni. In 2017 he led the Indian team in Champions Trophy held in England where he lost to Pakistan in the final match and now, he will lead Indian side in his first world cup. Indian team has won 49 matches out of 68 under the Virat Kohli’s Captaincy. He is the first Indian batsman to score a century on world cup debut. Kohli has the second highest number of the centuries.

Faf du Plessis (South Africa):
du Plessis was named as Captain in all three formats for South Africa in 2017 after AB de Villiers. Under the Faf du Plessis’s Captaincy, South Africa has lost only 5 matches out of 30 that’s makes him most successful Captain. He has the highest win percentage of 83.33. He made his ODI debut against India on 18th January, 2011. He has scored 5120 runs with the average of 46.54 in 134 ODI matches. He can play at different positions like top order or middle order. He will lead the South African time for the first time in world cup 2019. South Arica will play the opening match of the tournament against host England on 30th May at The Oval, London.

Kane Williamson (New Zealand):
Kane is considered as one of the best batsmen in the world. He was named as the Captain of New Zealand team in March 2016 after the retirement of Brendon McCullum. He has played the two editions of world cup in 2011 and 2015. Now he will lead his team in world cup 2019 for the first time. He is the key batsman for New Zealand batting line-up and his performance is consistent. He has the cool attitude and classy batting style. He has scored 11 centuries and 37 fifties with a good strike rate of 82.61. In world cup 2015, New Zealand qualified for the final first time but unluckily they lost to Australia. Kane Williamson is an experienced batsman and a Captain in all three formats.

Aaron Finch (Australia):
Finch is named as the Captain for the Australian squad in ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. That will be first world cup for him as a Captain. Australia ha won 10 ODI matches out of 18 under Aaron Finch’s Captaincy. They have won 8 consecutive matches, 3 against India and 5 against Pakistan in recent ODI series in March, 2019.  Aaron Finch performance was not good in captaincy period but now he in in form after scoring 2 centuries and 2 fifties against Pakistan in UAE. He is a good hard hitter batsman with a brilliant strike rate of 88.16 and a highest score of 153 in ODI matches. Aaron Finch is the fastest Australian player to reach 10 ODI centuries.

Sarfaraz Ahmed (Pakistan):
Sarfaraz who led the Pakistan Cricket Team in Champions Trophy 2017 in England and won this title by defeating India in the final match. World Cup 2019 will also be played in England and Pakistan team will give its best to win the second world cup trophy under Sarfaraz Ahmed’s Captaincy. Sarfaraz Ahmed is also one of the captains who will lead their team for the first time in world cup. He has a win percentage of 61.76 by winning 21 ODI matches out of 35 as a captain. He was named as Pakistan ODI’s Captain in February, 2017 after Azhar Ali. Sarfaraz Ahmed was the part of world cup squad 2015. He will serve his team in world cup 2019 as a wicket keeper, as a batsman and as a captain.

Mashrafe Mortaza (Bangladesh):
Cricket World Cup 2019 will be the second world cup for Mashrafe Mortaza as a Captain of Bangladesh team. In world cup 2015, under the captaincy of Mashrafe Mortaza, Bangladesh made it possible to qualify for the quarter finals for the first time by defeating England but they lost to India in the quarter final. Bangladesh has won 40 ODI matches out of 73 under the Mashrafe Mortaza’s captaincy. In 2009 he named as the Captain of Bangladesh Cricket team for the first time.He has 259 ODI wickets in his career and usually opens the bowling for the Bangladesh. He was the man of the match in Bangladesh historic victory over India in world cup 2007.

Jason Holder (West Indies):
Jason made his ODI debut against Australia on 1st February, 2013. In world cup 2015, Jason Holder led the West Indies squad and qualify for the quarter finals where they lost to New Zealand. Once again Jason Holder is named as a Captain to lead the team in world cup 2019. Jason Holder will be youngest Captain in this upcoming tournament. West Indies is waiting from a long time to win the world cup trophy after winning first two consecutive world cups in 1975 and 1979. Jason Holder has 119 ODI wickets in 90 matches with the economy rate of 5.54. Jason Holder also has two consecutive fifties against South Africa and India in world cup 2015.

Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka):
Karunaratne who last played his ODI more than four years ago in world cup 2015 is named as Sri Lankan team Captain for the world cup 2019. He made his ODI debut against England on 9th July, 2011. He has only 190 runs in 17 ODI matches with the average of 15.83. He is the permanent opener for Sri Lanka in test matches. Some regular players like Dinesh Chandimal, Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella, Akila Dananjaya and Danushka Gunathialka will not be the part of world cup squad 2019. Dimuth Karunaratne became the 17th test captain for Sri Lanka on 13th February, 2019 and won 2 test match series from South Africa. This will be the first world cup for Dimuth Karunaratne as a Captain.

Gulbadin Naib (Afghanistan):
Naib surprise captain for Afghanistan made his ODI debut against Canada on 9th August, 2011. He is named as a captain of Afghanistan’s world cup squad 2019 instead of Asghar Afghan. In 52 ODI matches Gulbadin Naib has scored 807 runs with the strike rate of 71.03 and took 40 wickets. He was the part of 14-man Afghanistan’s squad for the World T20 qualifier 2012. He also played in Afghanistan's second full member side match when they played against Australia at Sharjah. Afghanistan cricket board has some issues in captaincy that’s why they have 3 different captains for all three formats. In this big event Gulbadin Naib will lead the Afghanistan team in International match for the first time.