IPL 2019: Mumbai Indians Won the Fourth Title

IPL 2019: Mumbai Indians Won the Fourth Title

The final of the 12th edition of Indian Premier League has played between the defending champions Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians on 12th May, 2019 at Rajiv Gandhi international Stadium, Hyderabad. Mumbai Indians won the toss and decided to bat first against Chennai Super Kings. Mumbai Indians sealed their 4th Title by winning 1 run in the final. Previously they have won 2013, 2015 and 2017 editions of the Indian Premier League. Indian opening batsman Rohit Sharma is the captain of the team Mumbai Indians. MI is now the most successful team in IPL history. The foreign players in MI are Jason Behrendorff, Ben Cutting, Quinton de Kock, Beuran Hendricks, Evin Lewis, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga, and Kieron Pollard.

In final match, Kieron Pollard played important innings of 41 of 25 balls with 3 sixes and 3 fours to set a target of 150. Jasprit Bumrah also performed well by giving just 14 runs in 4 overs and got 2 wickets of Ambati Rayudu and Dwayne Bravo. Shane Watson from Chennai Super Kings who was dropped three times played big innings of 80 of 59 balls, but failed to secure the victory by losing his wicket to a run out in the last over. Deepak Chahar bowled well with figures of 3/26 to restrict The Mumbai Indians to set a big target. Lasith Malinga who had conceded 42 runs in 3 overs without a wicket, Captain Rohit Sharma trusted him and gave the ball to Malinga who successfully defended 9 runs in the last over to win the 4th trophy for Mumbai Indians. In the four finals, Chennai Super Kings now lost to Mumbai Indians for the 3rd time.

“If we conceded one run, then we wouldn’t win, and I wanted to win so I got the wicket quite simple,” Said Lasith Malinga.

“As a Captain, I am learning from every game and tournament. But we need to give credit to the team. Firmly believe captain is the representative of his team. Players make the captain look good.” Said Rohit Sharma.

Chennai Super Kings performed well in power play by scoring 53 runs with 1 wicket, but in middle overs MI bounced back by removing Suresh Raina and Ambati Rayudu and forced CSK under pressure. Another turning point was the run out of MS Dhoni who tried to take an extra single but the direct hit of Ishan Kishan turned that single into a wicket.

In IPL 2019, David Warner from Sunrisers Hyderabad named as the leading run scorer of the tournament with 692 runs and Imran Tahir from Chennai Super Kings awarded as leading wicket taker in the tournament with 26 wickets. Andree Russell and Shubman Gill from Kolkata Knight Riders also named as man of the series and emerging player of the tournament respectively. Kieron Pollard the allrounder of Mumbai Indians was fined 25% match fee in the final match for his inappropriate behavior against the Umpire decisions.